Skip to content

Strolling along St Georges Road North Fitzroy and saw this historic building facade being propped up so I thought I would try to find out what it is. Somebody from the area already knows I’m sure locals have investigated but I wanted to know and I think but am not sure that it was the Merri Palais Theatre. Does anyone know for sure. I have also posted another detail from an abstract that I have just finished,I think – when are they ever finished? My gorgeous Ninna the Kelpie is now 10 months.

st georges road 392

abstract detail

ninna close

Posted by Anne Warren Art on July 7, 2013
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. 07/7/2013

    yes it is.
    Terry

    Reply
  2. 10/22/2014

    It’s going to become a block of apartments, but construction still hasn’t started. I just did a post about it. 🙂

    Reply
    • 10/29/2014

      Thanks. Another blogger told me that also. I looked up the beautiful theatre it was once by searching through Trove (I think it was Trove). I understand development happens but I would like to see more long term planning. Won’t we need these entertainment venues when our numbers swell? By the way I love modern buildings (including the 60’s and 70’s). Some things should be restored and some things should be 2014 (not reproductions).

      Reply
      • 04/21/2016

        The photos on TROVE are of HOYTS MERRI THEATRE which was a completely separate building located NEXT DOOR to the Merri Dance Palais. The theatre was demolished in the 1960s.

      • 04/29/2016

        Thank you Kevin I appreciate your information. I love old buildings and I love history and I love contemporary architecture too. Soon I will post a photo I took of the interior of a little church in the backstreets of Collingwood (near Derby Street). They are keeping the church as it is but connecting the remainder of the living space by glass doors next door. Looks like a quality renovation.

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Sweet Life Kitchens

"Healthy Foods & Drinks

petrujviljoen

art, writing, reading

Public Art of Toronto

Think you know Toronto?

Niky Senater

Netsuke Carver & Goldsmith

