Skip to content

A gorgeous bouquet of flowers for my next painting – can you name them?

Today I taught an oil pastel workshop and want to thank Rita (Blogger) from newyorknorthfineart (amazing pastel work) for her encouragement.  It went really well.  I had some cheap pastels and then tried the beautiful Sennelier thinking there was nothing in between.  I discovered a beautiful cheap ‘fresh’ brand that worked really well.  My old cheapies were just too dry  and too old to blend. I am so eager to start my next painting but have to wait for underpainting to dry.  Just out of the studio shot is a page of little Morandi images (no flowers) full of restraint – it is there to remind me to keep it simple.

I’m hopeless at naming flowers.  The yellow are little orchids I think, there is a grevillia, a marigold, some really tight pink roses and something that looks like a berry etc.  I asked for something earthy so I got the little branches.  See, I told you I was hopeless with names of flowers.

DSC02675 DSC02680 DSC02681

Categories: Art - Visual
Posted by Anne Warren Art on July 3, 2015
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. 07/3/2015

    The yellow orchid is some type of oncidium; the large red flower is not a Grevillea but rather Banksia coccinea (waratah banksia); I think the red tubular flower may be Firespike, but that’s a bit of a guess.

    Reply
  2. 07/3/2015

    Fred, Joe, Sue, Bob and Sandy. (You asked…..)

    Reply
  3. 07/8/2015

    Hi Anne! So glad to see you are working in oil pastels! Yay!! I can’t wait to see what you do with them. I have been perusing through some of your posts here and am so impressed by your work!
    Glad you found a set of pastels that seem to be working for you. There really are a lot of decently priced sets that work really well. I can’t help you with naming the flowers, but if you need any tips on the medium, I may be able to provide something! Have fun! Rita
    PS. Thanks for mentioning me on your blog 🙂

    Reply
    • 07/10/2015

      Hi Rita, Nice of you to comment. I enjoyed the little things I made however I have to make some work towards a couple of exhibitions and have chosen acrylic paints. Certainly not in that place to exhibit with pastel work. My pastel works are pretty childlike or beginners stuff. I am fiddling with them each night and getting to know them a bit better. I love the scraping and layering and I also love using ink over the top.

      Reply
      • 07/10/2015

        Glad you enjoying them. Scraping and layering are a lot of fun. You can really come up with some interesting effects. Congratulations on the exhibitions! ~Rita

  4. 08/25/2015

    Reblogged this on rochellegk.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Sweet Life Kitchens

"Healthy Foods & Drinks

petrujviljoen

art, writing, reading

Public Art of Toronto

Think you know Toronto?

Niky Senater

Netsuke Carver & Goldsmith

