Skip to content

Final preparations for gallery exhibition in Collingwood.

chrysanthemum with coffee cups and detail  Our exhibition is called ‘SEVEN’.

I researched lots of different ideas and came up with not very much at all to inspire me with the title.

I decided to turn my attention to still life work which has been very rewarding for me.  I hope you like the pic I am posting.  I have made seven still-life works and seven small responses/details that will hang separately.  If you are looking for a long articulate explanation, again, I have nothing.

I can tell you that I have used a limited colour palette of ultramarine blue, cadmium red, cadmium yellow and titanium white acrylic paint as well as an oil pencil.  There is the tiniest amount of venetion red and alizarin crimson used as well.  If you are looking – no not seven colours.

Chrysanthemum with coffee cups, Acrylic Paint / Oil Pencil

Posted by Anne Warren Art on August 17, 2015
6 Comments Post a comment
  1. 08/17/2015

    I like the way you interpreted the theme by not interpreting it as such! I had the same difficulty with a project I’m working on for a challenge called ‘soul food’ – until I realized my art is my soul food, so I could do anything I wanted to, within the size requirements! 🙂

    Reply
  2. 08/17/2015

    LOVE this picture!!! I´d put it on my wall immediately! This kind of scratchy background and table gives it such a beautiful patina. It´s really wonderful!!!

    Reply
    • 08/19/2015

      Thanks Ann Christina I enjoyed making it. My husband thinks it is unbalanced but I don’t.

      Reply
  3. 08/17/2015

    Anne – I would love to be at the show and see your work in person. The warmth of the still life posted today pulls me right into the painting. Have a great time. I look forward to hearing about your experience.

    Reply
    • 08/19/2015

      Thankyou Sharon. I pick up from one exhibition and drop off new works to another. phew…

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Sweet Life Kitchens

"Healthy Foods & Drinks

petrujviljoen

art, writing, reading

Public Art of Toronto

Think you know Toronto?

Niky Senater

Netsuke Carver & Goldsmith

