Skip to content

January art start with simple sculpture.

Cutting, sanding and sculpting balsa wood is not difficult however I quickly realised I needed the right materials.  I now own a mask and safety glasses as the powdery wood rises like smoke.  These pieces are pretty ordinary as I am still learning and my only tools are sand paper, scalpel blade and a hacksaw.  I need to find the right tools.  I know with sewing you must, absolutely must have good scissors.  I am wondering what the MUST have is for carving into balsa wood.

The cat found a nice cool spot on the table – what you cannot see is above her is a large airconditioner on this very hot Summer day.

Posted by Anne Warren Art on January 4, 2016
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. 01/4/2016

    I love the simplicity of these pieces. Whatever you learn don’t forget to keep a record of your early efforts. There’s often something there that gets lost as the unfamiliar becomes more commonplace.
    Cats they always know the best spots.😁

    Reply
    • 01/4/2016

      Hi Leonie Thats such a great message thank you. I usually am very hasty posting photos that really are not quite ready but thats me. I am meeting with a carver for some advice next week so that will be interesting. This could however be as good as it gets. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Sweet Life Kitchens

"Healthy Foods & Drinks

petrujviljoen

art, writing, reading

Public Art of Toronto

Think you know Toronto?

Niky Senater

Netsuke Carver & Goldsmith

