Skip to content

A few hiccups but fish mobile finished.

I have really enjoyed making this mobile.  Many moons ago I saw a Calder exhibition and fell in love with it.  I mean many moons ago – probably the 70’s and I didn’t even know who he was.  This is nothing like what I saw but the motivation has been there for a long time to make something that moved easily, gently with a breeze.  I kind of fell in to the carving of the balsa wood – the wood has been sitting in my studio for about 10 years.

As someone said to me it is like a collage, an assemblage and I guess that’s right.  The little red beads came off a bracelet, the string was purchased for gift tags, I cannot remember why I bought balsa wood 10 years ago and the finest crochet hook ever made was a tool I had in my kit that I never thought I would ever use (to drag the string through the wood).

I have one or two cuts on my fingers from the blade, lots of sneezing from the powdery dust and grit in my eyes, sanding a beautiful tail and then accidentally breaking it off (a few times) an enormous tangle in the string when I thought I was finished, my husband saying it wasn’t serious art but all that was the negatives that brought me to this humble piece that I had to make.

 

Posted by Anne Warren Art on January 12, 2016
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. 01/12/2016

    I so like your fish mobile – a culmination of that little voice from the past becoming ever louder.

    Reply
  2. 01/12/2016

    That looks right at home with the garden and water behind it. Lovely.

    Reply
  3. 01/12/2016

    The mobile is lovely. I have a very slow internet connection sometimes and I had to reload this page a few times just so I could see ‘the bigger picture’ 🙂 I like the composition very much.

    Reply
  4. 01/13/2016

    It’s fantastic! Job well done.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Sweet Life Kitchens

"Healthy Foods & Drinks

petrujviljoen

art, writing, reading

Public Art of Toronto

Think you know Toronto?

Niky Senater

Netsuke Carver & Goldsmith

