Skip to content

My first wood carving sculpture of a bird.

image

It took lots and lots of hours to make.  If anyone wanted to buy it I would sell it for one million dollars.  I joke.  I decided to make another bird but a little different.  I need to learn so much so repetition and refining will help.

image

This is Frank making stunning work.

image

image

Posted by Anne Warren Art on August 5, 2016
6 Comments Post a comment
  1. 08/5/2016

    Wow! So delicate and beautiful! You have a talent 😊

    Reply
    • 08/7/2016

      Thankyou very much. I will stick with birds for a while and try some new techniques.

      Reply
  2. 08/5/2016

    Is this seriously your first, Anne? Because that is amazing. I think you have found a talent and a skill you did not know you had.

    Reply
    • 08/7/2016

      It started with some balsa wood which I don’t consider wood carving as it is so soft and I didn’t have tools for details, made four spoons but this is what I consider my first sculpture. It is so time consuming but also rewarding. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Reply
  3. 08/6/2016

    What a beautiful bird, my partner was also very impressed. Brava!

    Reply
    • 08/7/2016

      Thanks Leonie, It is nice to have the encouragement. I was going to try to articulate feathers on the bird but I realised I was being too ambitious. Keeping it simple even though it takes forever. Now meet with experts in woodcarving Friday morning – they happily answer all my silly questions (might have to take in some biscuits for morning tea).

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Sweet Life Kitchens

"Healthy Foods & Drinks

petrujviljoen

art, writing, reading

Public Art of Toronto

Think you know Toronto?

Niky Senater

Netsuke Carver & Goldsmith

