Skip to content

Wood carving or wood sculpting not easy.

I have been making spoons for a couple of months now (not every day of course) and am enjoying and learning new things each time.  I am a member of Woodcraft Manningham wood carvers club.  The simpler the design the harder it is for me.  I don’t know that much yet but am slowly learning.  I think the club members think I am silly sometimes for not drawing a pattern or measuring but with an art background some things are innate and shift with how you feel at that moment.  (They also shift when you are inexperienced and chisel and mallet much deeper than you wished).

The new couches needed protection from my dog Ninna so in the evening they are being barred with furniture and plasticware etc so she doesn’t sleep on them.  She has a brand new top of the line comfortable bed.  After 5 days I have discovered it is not working too well and will have to think of an alternative.

Baby Mason is looking cute so I thought I would share his scrunched up face.

Posted by Anne Warren Art on November 1, 2016
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. 11/1/2016

    I absolutely love the spoons you have showcased here. Your skills may still be developing but you seem to have an innate ability. I am very impressed.

    Reply
    • 11/2/2016

      That’s very kind and encouraging of you. Much appreciated. 😊😊

      Reply
  2. 04/4/2017

    Great looking projects. Perhaps you should look into kuksa carving/sculpting. What techniques you have used for the spoons would be applicable to those items.

    Reply
    • 04/4/2017

      Thank you Patrick I appreciate your skill and your comments to me. I will look into Kuksa which I have never heard of.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

John Malone

playful panda

To Pikap Community - Art In Thessaloniki

Μια προσπάθεια συγκέντρωσης και παρουσίασης της εικαστικής καλλιτεχνικής δημιουργίας στην πόλη της Θεσσαλονίκης. An attempt to assemble and present the visual artistic creation in the city of Thessaloniki, Greece.

Life with Leonie

A personal account of my experiences and adventures, starting with my move to Melbourne Australia to live and study for the next 5 months.