Skip to content

I’ve happily finished my still-life painting of flowers and vase.

I know I said I wanted to do still life with a quirky twist but these were bought for me so I felt I had to do them as they were rather than with a piece of fruit sticking out of them.  It was a challenge as I have not actually painted many flowers/arrangements.  I know the shadow is obvious and that it maybe should have a shadow behind because of the light in the front but quite honestly it doesn’t because of an overhead light.  Some of these paintings have a gloss sealer over the top however this one will remain matt for the time being anyway.  Please know that photos reduced in size for here become more intense in colour and that the actual painting is more muted and hazier looking.

Acrylic on Board

Acrylic on Board

Anyone interested in the round puffs in the composition they are Asclepias Pods Green – also called Hairy Balls or Swan Plant.

I didn’t paint the hairs on these balls as it did not suit the loose style of painting I have used.

Tomorrow night I will be teaching another workshop so with the artist’s permission I will post something new that has been made from the  mixed media selection.

Posted by Anne Warren Art on April 7, 2015
16 Comments Post a comment
  1. 04/7/2015

    Simply put, it is a fantastic painting! Congratulations, Anne! 🙂

    Reply
  2. 04/7/2015

    Lovely Anne!

    Reply
  3. 04/7/2015

    Wonderful painting! The rendering of the textures from the leaves to the glass is fabulous.

    Reply
  4. 04/7/2015

    you are able to paint true-to-life and loosely at the same time…awesome

    Reply
  5. 04/7/2015

    charming, good work

    Reply
  6. 04/8/2015

    Absolutely stunning painting. What a wonderful picture.

    Reply
  7. 04/13/2015
    chrystene

    ThIs is stunning!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Sweet Life Kitchens

"Healthy Foods & Drinks

petrujviljoen

art, writing, reading

Public Art of Toronto

Think you know Toronto?

Niky Senater

Netsuke Carver & Goldsmith

